Awards and Recognitions

Marjorie Ball Award of Merit

The awards nominations for 2018 are open.  

This award is presented to an outstanding OT/OTR whose contributions have made a difference in the field of occupational therapy and specifically to the profession within Colorado. This is the highest honor that can be awarded by the Occupational Therapy Association of Colorado. Speaking at the annual State Conference the year following receipt of the award honors Marjorie Ball Award recipients. 

Marjorie Ball was the head of Colorado State University's Department of Occupational Therapy for twenty-one years. She was instrumental in developing the OT program into one of the largest of its type in the country. Her career also included work at Missouri's Firmin Desloge Hospital and Miriam Convalescent Hospital. She served for several years as chief of occupational therapy at Bushnell General Hospital, Brigham City, Utah, and at Wakeman Convalescent Hospital, Camp Atterbur, Indiana. She spent a sabbatical year lecturing and working in l'Ecole d'Ergotherapie, Hôpital des Enfants Malades, in Paris, and at La Clinique de Recuperation Fonctionelle, Les Charmilles, in Valenton, France.

To honor her contributions to the field, OTAC established an annual lectureship award in her name. The following people have received the Marjorie Ball Lectureship, the highest award an OTR can receive in the state of Colorado.

1968 - Alberta Harrah 

1969 - Chloe Nelson 

1970 - Not Awarded 

1971 - Ellie Gilfoyle 

1975 - Ann Grady 

1976 - Wanda Mayberry 

1978 - Doris Shriver 

1980 - Bobbie Smith 

1981 - Pat Christ 

1985 - Agatha Jackson 

1986 - Bill Lofton

1987 - Mary Hillary

1988 - Karen Spencer 

1989 - Susan Johnson 

1990 - Barbara Strewler

1991 - Joanie McMullen 

1992 - Patrice O'Reilly

1993 - Wanda Mayberry 

1995 - Constance Mullens 

1996 - Rosalie Lewin 

1997 - Anne Fisher 

1998 - Lois Hickman 

1999 - Cynthia Cano 

2000 - Wanda Mayberry

2001 - Anita Bundy

2002 - Pam DiPasquale-Lehnerz

2003 - Dottie Davis

2004 - Lucy Jane Miller

2005 - Susan Zekert

2006 - Becky Robler 

2007 - Terry Hawkins 

2008 - Susan Woodmansee

2009 - Janice Hinds

2010 - Not awarded

2011 - Not awarded

2012 -  Not awarded

2013 - Pat McKenna

2014 - Karen Atler

2015 - Audrey Aguilar
2016- Suzanne Holm

Agatha Jackson COTA Award of Excellence

The awards nominations for 2018 are open. 

This award was established to honor Agatha Jackson, a vital member of our OT community since 1960. Our purpose in nominating (Certified) Occupational Therapy Assistants is to recognize the many contributions that OTAs/COTAs make to the profession in the areas of practice, education, and community service. Speaking at the annual State Conference the year following receipt of the award honors Agatha Jackson Award recipients.

1986 - Lorraine Holden

1988 - Lynn Hoppe 

1989 - Susan Johnson 

1992 - Genita Maun

1993 - Helen Wetzel 

1994 - Shirley Marino 

1995 - Pat Webb 

1998 - Christine Newell

2003 - Melissa Riehl

2004 - Barbara Lanning 

2005 - Laura Carver 

2006 - Gerald Valdez

2007 - Stephanie Rae Dionisio

2008 - Will O’Hearn

2009 - Bill Tiffany

2010 - Shannon Michel

2011 - Craig Dauer

2012 - Not Awarded

2013 - Not Awarded

2014 - Not Awarded

Dottie Davis Service Awards

The awards nominations for 2018 are open.

This award was established to honor Dottie Davis, a valuable and influential member of our OT community since 1946. Service awards are presented to acknowledge individuals who have worked hard for the profession and the state association, OTAC. 

OT-OTA Partnership Award

The awards nominations for 2017 have closed. Check back next spring for 2018 nominations. 

This award recognizes an effective partnership between an OT and an OTA (OTR and COTA). This partnership must advance the OT profession, exemplify teamwork, and promote quality client service.

Recognition Awards

The awards nominations for 2018 are open.

2012 - Pueblo Community College faculty

Recognition Awards acknowledge an individual’s or an organization’s hard work, support for, and dedication to the field of occupational therapy. This award is for individuals who are NOT an OT or OTA.